Perspective Adjustment

2 Cor 13-11

I personally love to receive adjustments to my perspective. These moments where God steps in a realigns what is out of place in my heart are of great value to me. I also love how they come in the moments I least expect.
My most recent adjustment came last week.

So, last week my son got glasses for the first time. As you can imagine this was a significant event in his life. For me however, it was a bit of a shock. Up until this year, he had had pretty good vision. He had no trouble reading. And other than seeming to be inching himself closer to the TV, I really hadn’t noticed a change, nor did he ever complain about having trouble seeing anything in the distance.

Nevertheless, the result from the eye exam: Nearsighted.

Fast forward two weeks when his glasses arrived and we went to the eye doctor to have them fitted. This is where the adjustment in my perspective began to take place.
As my son sat in the chair in front of the attendant, mirror before of him, the gentleman cleaned the already spotless lenses of his new glasses and handed them to my boy. “Go ahead and try’em out.” he said. Gingerly holding the glasses my son slid them on and over his ears. “What do you think?” I ask. Totally expecting him to be looking at his own reflection in the mirror. To my amusement he was not even looking in the direction of the mirror. He was looking at the rows of glasses on the wall, he was looking toward the back of the building. His gaze took him around the entire room. And that’s when my heart broke a little. He was trying to see everything he couldn’t before.

He also, was not the least bit interested in what these glasses did to change his appearance.

Over this past week, so many new observations have been shared. Things I have taken as common place have been exciting for him. Things that I have counted as small have shown up large to him.

This week, that still small voice within has been asking if I get it yet? Do I get that it is more important and more valuable to see what is around me than to focus on me? Do I get that the ordinary in every day can be extraordinary? Do I see that letting my gaze fall far, letting it fall on Christ and the glorious future he has planned for us, helps bring meaning, purpose and clarity to what seems out of focus or out of order today? 

Then on Sunday, our pastor took time to notice my sons new glasses and take time to celebrate them. If I’m honest, I haven’t been feeling so excited about this process, thinking still about the hassle glasses might impose on a energetic young man. But, in that moment that still small voice piped up again, “Do you get it? Do you see that restoration that brings clarity is worthy of rejoicing?”
Yes, I think I’m starting to get it. And so, we rejoiced.

Finally, brothers and sisters, rejoice!
Strive for full restoration,
encourage one another, be of one mind, live in peace.
And the God of love and peace will be with you.

2 Corinthians 13:11

 

~Rita

Leave a Reply

