Equipped

Eph 2-10

When I started a little blog 6 years ago to share our adventures as ranch hands in Montana, I had no idea if I would make it past the first post. I had never been a writer before. If I’m completely honest I barely paid attention to my language arts lessons in school. Who needs to know how to structure a sentence, anyway? I was probably the only senior in high school I know who still had a speller to work on. Though I always loved literature, I was never known as the “Creative one.” Goodness, I still struggle to make up fairy tales for the kids! So, believe me when I say, no one is more surprised than I am to find myself writing.

I think often when we think of our lives, and especially in our spiritual walk, that everything must fit in its little box. Then on each little box, we mark ourselves finished, and when opportunities arrive we are oh so quick to say, “Sorry, I can’t do that.” or “Sorry, that is not my gifting.” We judge that just because we have never been able to do something before, it means we will never be equipped or qualified to do anything more.

I know it is so much easier to point out our faults. Honestly, if you asked me, I still struggle with calling myself a writer. I still am not a great speller (thank the good Lord for spell-check) and  when I go back and re-read my work I often see all those grammatical errors that probably cause all your toes to curl. Even when I google how to correctly place a semi-colon, I still second guess if I’m doing it right. Yet, it seems like all day long words are filling my head, and eventually they meet a point with God’s word and suddenly they spill onto the page and before I know what I’ve done, I’ve written something. This is certainly not something within my nature or natural ability, it is a gift from God. 

You’ve I’m sure heard the saying, “God doesn’t call the equipped, He equips the called.” Well, what if we believed that? What if, when we first feel that burning in our hearts to do something for the Lord, that we really believed that he can equip us to complete the work?

“For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works,
which God prepared in advance for us to do.”
Ephesians 2:10

When God formed you in your mothers womb, you were not a mistake. When he knit you together in the hidden places, he already had a purpose in mind and a plan for your life. 

13 For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.
Psalm 139:13-16

He already knew every gift you would have, and He knows every gift yet to be bestowed upon you. Our job is to have faith that He will complete it. Not for our gratification and fulfillment, but for His.

~Rita

Leave a Reply

