Am I a Missionary?

romans-8-01

Do you believe that you are a missionary? Do you believe you can make an impact for the Lord where you are right now?
I have been pondering lately just what my mission field is. Of course I can say it is my home. I’m a mom and I am honored (and often humbled) that I get to be on the front lines of ministering to all these little people.
But, I wonder, do I have another mission field?

I just got done reading the books of Acts and Romans. Talk about relevant! I am always awed by the boldness that these men had for sharing the gospel. For the lengths they went to make HIM known to people and of course I am amazed at how cheerfully they endured persecution.

Here’s the thing. We live in a world where we make hundreds of connections with people every day. Whether it be online or in person, and we need to believe that every encounter we have with another person matters.

What if the only version of Christ that people saw was your Face Book Page?
I think most of us treat Facebook like our living rooms. It is a comfortable place for us to get real with our guest but not too real. I mean, let’s say we keep our living rooms relatively picked up and ready for company most of the time (unless it’s 11am on a Tuesday and you have 4 kids, well then…)
I digress, the point is we feel fairly comfortable sharing our life with friends and acquaintances in our living rooms.
And that is good. I believe God wants us to be authentic with people. But he also wants us to be ready to share the gospel too.

Wait. That’s all good if your a “mature” Christian and all. But, I just got saved, or I am really struggling with God right now. I can’t be a missionary. 

I hear you. But what about this:
About 13 years ago, I was just finding my way back into my Saviors arms. Sure, I had grown up in the church and actually knew my Bible pretty good. But, I had not been living like it. I knew things were not right and something had to change. I was trying. (God is so good that way, he never gives up on us, does he?) Anyway, at that point I was partying on Friday night and getting up to read my Bible Saturday morning. And I’m going to rest in the fact that God was at work in my heart. Well, on this particular morning I had been reading my Bible and one of my friends showed up at my door. So, I did what friends do, I set the Bible aside and invited him into my living room. Well, it didn’t take him more than a few minutes to notice the open bible, and make a comment to the effect of, you really believe that stuff? Of course the fact was I did and still do. We started talking about things. Just talking. Did I have all the answers? No I didn’t and I told him so. In the end he did the most surprising thing, he looked me straight in the eye and said, “Okay, how do I do this? I want to be a Christian, but I’m probably not going to be as good at it as you.” ….

And this is where I confess I failed.

I’m sure you would like to read this story of how I aided in the salvation of this friend. But the fact is I retreated. In that one sentence I was so convicted and convinced that I was under qualified to be a missionary in that moment, I think I said something like, “I’m not good at it.” and then changed the subject. Unfortunately, we lost touch over time. To this day I don’t know if this friend ever received Christ. I hope, but I don’t know.

Here is the take away though, the truth. No matter where we are in our walk with Christ, be it only for one day or if we have walked with him for 100 years, we are qualified and even more so we are called to be ambassadors for Christ.
Some of Jesus’ last words to his disciples were:

He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation.
Mark 16:15

I believe those words were for us too.

I also believe these words are for us:

Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus,
Romans 8:1

By His grace you are qualified.

~Rita

 

Leave a Reply

