The Pit (Part 4)

(Based on the book Get Out of That Pit by Beth Moore)

Psalm 40-1-3 part 4.jpg

I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to God. Many will see and fear
and put their trust in the Lord.
Psalm 40: 1-3

Okay, let’s wrap this series up and get out of that pit!
I sincerely hope that after considering the options presented in the last post, you have decided to choose God as your deliverer. You won’t regret it! Even though it will cost you everything, the end results will far exceed your expectations!
Ready? Here we go. Three steps. They all include the mouth.

Step 1: Cry Out.
Crying out is a good deal more than just shedding some tears and it can be seen throughout the bible, especially in the book of Psalms. A wise person once said, “Sentimentality is no indication of a warm heart. Nothing weeps more copiously than a chunk of ice.” When we find ourselves in a pit, the tears we shed are often out of frustration and hurt because we cannot get our way. Surely God would bend the rules for us, right? Surely He will disregard our disobedience and provide us with a shortcut out of the mess we’ve gotten into, right? Not likely. He desires the very best for each of us, and He is unable to provide that until we reach the point that we want Him more than anything else. He is interested in relationship; He’s more interested in you knowing your healer than in you being healed, knowing your deliverer than being delivered.
So how do you “cry out”? What are the qualifiers? A true cry is heat-felt, persistent and relentless. It comes from the very depth of our being, makes use of the steep walls of the pit and takes aim directly for the ear of God. It comes from the desperate that cry, “I need God and God alone”; and it comes from the deliberate that cry, “I want God and God alone.” Step 1: Cry Out.

Step 2: Confess.
Yep, its time to own your mess and your mistakes. Confess the mess you’re in, how you got there, who’s in the mess with you. Include it all: the shameful, the prideful, and the stupid. Confess how much you really need God in order to get free of the pit. Hold nothing back! Lay it all out in front of God so the two of you can look at it together. When you’ve done all of that, finish by confessing who God is. The bible is full of descriptors. You could even Google it: Attributes of God. Remember that God is interested in a relationship with you. He begins the conversation by convicting us of sin – that yucky feeling inside when we know we are in the wrong.
Conviction from God
leads to
Confession from us
which leads to
Forgiveness from God
which results in
A restored relationship!
Step 2: Confess.

Finally, the last step. Step 3: Consent.

A little vocabulary review is in order. Consent means to agree to the desire of another, to give approval of what is proposed, voluntary agreement.
Confess is the easiest step! All we have to do is agree to what God already wants, and make no mistake; He wants you out of that pit for good!

1 John 5:14-15 says it like this: We can come to God with no doubts. This means when we ask God for things, and those things agree with what he wants for us, God cares about what we say. He listens to us every time we ask him. So we know that he gives us whatever we ask from him. (ERV)

There you have it. All three steps. Combine them in prayer that uses His word and pray out loud. You don’t need to scream, but you do need to hear yourself speaking in agreement with His word. It could look like the following excerpt taken from Beth Moore’s book:
Cry Out
Restore me, O God Almighty; make your face shine upon me, that I may be delivered [Psalm 80:7]. Answer me with awesome deeds of righteousness, O God my Savior [Psalm 65:5]… Add any of your own words
Confess
I come to you Jesus weary and burdened. Please give me rest. I want o take your yoke upon me and learn from you, for you are gentle and humble in heart. Let me find rest for my soul, for your yoke is easy and your burden is light [Matthew 11:28-30]…Add any of your own words.
Consent
Father, when I was dead in my sins, you made me alive in Christ. You forgave me all my sins. You disarmed the powers and authorities and you made a public spectacle of them [Colossians 2:13-16]. Help me desire to do your will, and write your law on my heart [Psalm 40:8]…Add any of your own words.

And how will you know when you’re out of the pit? You will find your feet on solid ground and a new song in your mouth praising God. People will look at you and see a difference and they will know that God has done a wonderful thing!

~Patricia

Leave a Reply

