To Be Well

James 1-17

You were not created to be sick! Period. End of story! I know that’s a bold statement. I can afford to be bold because that statement isn’t my idea; it is God’s. The word of God makes it perfectly clear that the Lord did not intend for His children to be sick in any way, shape, or form. Healing is a gift, a good thing.

James 1:17 says that
“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.”

Healing is a good gift; sickness is a curse. God never changes; He doesn’t declare healing good one day and sickness good another. Just as you would purchase and give a gift to a loved one, the Lord purchased healing and made it available to each of His children – a gift. On the cross, Jesus paid that bill and purchased that gift.

Isaiah 53:5 states,

“But He was pierced because of our transgressions, crushed because of our iniquities; punishment for our peace was on Him; and we are healed by His wounds”
[Holman Christian Standard]

We often hear that the Lord heals sometimes, when it is His will. I would argue that it is always His will! . John says it this way:

“Dear friend, I pray that you may prosper and be in good health, just as your soul prospers”
3 John 1:2

As our souls – mind, will and emotions – prosper and come into alignment with the word of God and the plan He has for our lives, we can expect our bodies, our physical health to follow suit. When the body of Christ realizes that sickness is not and never has been from God, that sickness is straight out of the gates of hell, we will react to it differently. We will begin to see it as an invasion of the enemy, not something God sent our way to teach us a lesson, and we will fight against it and refuse to let it take more ground in our lives. God knows we live in a fallen and decaying world and that sickness and disease are a part of that decay, but He provided us with a way out. He purchased the gift of healing for every one of His children. It is His will that you be healed and whole in your spirit, in your soul, and in your body. Amen!

“Father God, Thank you so much for the gift of healing purchased by your son Jesus. I thank you that your word declares your will, and your will is that your children be well. Right now, I ask for and believe I receive the healing that I need. I choose to line up my words with your words and declare that by the stripes of Jesus I am healed! And I will continue to declare this until I see the healing I am believing for! If there is any area of my life that requires an adjustment in order for healing to manifest, please show me so that I can acknowledge the problem and make the adjustment. I ask this in the name of Jesus. Amen.”

~Patricia

Leave a Reply

