Because He Loves Us

Hebrews 12-7 and 11

4 In your struggle against sin, you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding your blood. And have you completely forgotten this word of encouragement that addresses you as a father addresses his son? It says,

“My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline,
    and do not lose heart when he rebukes you,
because the Lord disciplines the one he loves,
    and he chastens everyone he accepts as his son.”[a]

Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as his children. For what children are not disciplined by their father? If you are not disciplined—and everyone undergoes discipline—then you are not legitimate, not true sons and daughters at all. Moreover, we have all had human fathers who disciplined us and we respected them for it. How much more should we submit to the Father of spirits and live! 10 They disciplined us for a little while as they thought best; but God disciplines us for our good, in order that we may share in his holiness. 11 No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.

Hebrews 12:4-11

Happy Monday. I hope you had a blessed weekend. I’m just going to go out on a limb here and share that mine was not so easy, though it was very good for my soul.

We went to a church this past Sunday that taught about the above scripture. It turned out to be very timely for me…in more ways than I can really relate in one post.

But here is the illustration that that I found so enlightening:

The pastor spoke of a situation where a small child had wandered into a busy road. Let’s say for the purpose of imagination that it was his child. Now he called to the child, “STOP, Come back!” But the child did not hear or chose not to listen to him. She kept marching steadily forward. There suddenly was a large truck approaching. As the child was not hearing the call to avoid danger the Pastor dashed into the road and pushed the child out of the way. It was a hard push and the child skinned her palm and her knees. She cried severely at the pain. And rightly so, because it was very painful. Yet, unknowing how her life had been in danger she was unable to be grateful that he had saved her life.

Now suppose, it was your child? Suppose he saved your child from being hit by the Truck yet he skinned his palm and his knees. How would you perceive him? Would he be a hero or would you be angry over the skinned knees? If I may be so bold to suggest that we would count him a hero! He had saved your child from certain death. Yet the child did not see the truck and is not so thrilled that he had been pushed and then received injury for it. You do your best to explain that there was a large truck coming and what was done was for their good. Then, it is up to the child to choose whether or not he believes it, and thus be grateful for it.

Now, lets take it one step further. (and this is where I divert from the sermon.) What if we…what if I was the child? I’m going on my merry way. I see something I want across the busy road and I decide I’m going to get it. I do hear the warning to stop and come back. But I really want the “thing” on the other side. So, I step into the road. Maybe I even glance both ways. I might see the shadow of the truck in the distance. But, it is a long way off, and so I go on. Suddenly seemingly out of no where I am shoved to the other side of the road. I land on my hands and knees. I can already feel the heat and burn as my skin scrapes against the hard packed dirt on the other side of the road. I feel the blood begin to pulse under my skin. Tears involuntarily fill my eyes. I look at my oozing palms and skinned knees. overwhelmed by the pain. I feel a large gust of wind, but cannot discern from where it comes. Suddenly, a man is at my side. He gently tends the wounds. He makes no mention of the truck. He does not say, “He told you not to….” But, he does say, “I know that hurts. Yes, you made a choice. Yes, it will take some time to heal, and it will hurt. But, your father loved you and had to push you, and I do wish you would here his call next time.”

Now let’s read that passage of scripture again.

4 In your struggle against sin, you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding your blood. And have you completely forgotten this word of encouragement that addresses you as a father addresses his son? It says,

“My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline,
    and do not lose heart when he rebukes you,
because the Lord disciplines the one he loves,
    and he chastens everyone he accepts as his son.”[a]

Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as his children. For what children are not disciplined by their father? If you are not disciplined—and everyone undergoes discipline—then you are not legitimate, not true sons and daughters at all. Moreover, we have all had human fathers who disciplined us and we respected them for it. How much more should we submit to the Father of spirits and live! 10 They disciplined us for a little while as they thought best; but God disciplines us for our good, in order that we may share in his holiness. 11 No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.

Hebrews 12:4-11

Yeah, means a bit more to me too.

Be Encouraged, God Bless.

 

~Rita

Leave a Reply

