Set my face like flint

Isaiah 50-7

As I was having my JAM ( Jesus and Me ) time one morning as my son calls it, something rose up in me to pray “Lord set my face like flint”. As soon as I wrote it in my prayer journal it struck something in me and I immediately thought. “Where have I heard that before and what does that mean?” That sent me on a study in search of treasure I knew the Lord had for me.

“For the Lord God will help Me;
Therefore I will not be disgraced;
Therefore I have set My face like a flint,
And I know that I will not be ashamed.
Isaiah 50:7 (NKJV)

These prophetic words of Jesus trough the prophet Isaiah written hundreds of years prior give us a glimpse of his focus on fulfilling his mission.
So what does it mean to set my face like flint?
Flint is a hard rock used for many things, like tools, houses, churches, fortress, etc. It is known for its strength and once set immovability.
We see a confirmation of this in Luke 9:51

Now it came to pass, when the time had come for Him to be received up, that He steadfastly set His face to go to Jerusalem,
Luke 9:51New King James Version (NKJV)

Jesus is not ignorant of the danger that lays ahead. Jerusalem is a death sentence. Yet we see that because he knew his mission he was always pushing toward it. Focused and steadfast.
Isaiah 50:7 (NLT)
Because the Sovereign Lord helps me,
I will not be disgraced.
Therefore, I have set my face like a stone,determined to do his will.And I know that I will not be put to shame.
Luke 13:22 (NIV)
Then Jesus went through the towns and villages, teaching as he made his way to Jerusalem.
Look up these other verses and you will see that he was always pushing toward Jerusalem his final earthly mission.
Luke 17:11 (NLT)
As Jesus continued on toward Jerusalem, he reached the border between Galilee and Samaria.
Luke 18:31 ( NLT)
Taking the twelve disciples aside, Jesus said, “Listen, we’re going up to Jerusalem, where all the predictions of the prophets concerning the Son of Man will come true.
Luke 19:28 ( NLT)
After telling this story, Jesus went on toward Jerusalem, walking ahead of his disciples.

Immovable , courageous , steadfast men and women of God inspire me.That’s why cowboys and soldiers have a special place in my heart.They represent a toughness and an immovable attitude regardless of what they just drew that’s in the chute or what they are facing in the battlefield . I’m in awe of the courage of the solider who rushes toward the enemy and puts his life on the line so I can enjoy freedom.
To set my face like flint is a statement of courage with a firm commitment to accomplish what God has sent me to do in spite of scorn, ridicule, or yes even danger. One of the greatest Generals of all time Thomas J Jackson also known as Stonewall Jackson was known for this immovable attitude when he was given an order. His nickname Stonewall comes from the very idea of being immovable except when pursing the enemy. General Barnard Bee in trying to rally his troops said, “There stands Jackson like a stone wall. Let us determine to die here and we will conquer. Rally behind the Virginians!”
When asked by Captain John Imboden after the first battle of Bull Run how he could be so immovable in battle when bombs and bullets are raining down on him he said.
“ My religious belief teaches me to feel as safe in battle as in bed. God has fixed the time of my death. I do not concern myself about that, but to be always ready, no matter when it may overtake me…. That is the way all men should live, and then all would be equally brave.”
The Stonewall Brigade was set apart from all other brigades. They were almost always smaller in number and against great odds. But their obedience to their commander and their heart to serve him made them do what everyone else thought impossible. The term Foot Calvary came from them because they were known to march 25 to 30 miles a day and then still engage the enemy. Many battles were won due to this amazing brigade who had an immovable attitude that said “if Stonewall said we can do it then we can!”
It is apparent the war against Christianity has started. Before the civil war actually began many knew it was on the horizon. General Jackson told his cadets at VMI “The time for war has not yet come, but it will come, and that soon: and when it does come, my advice is to draw the sword and throw away the scabbard”
We are on the front lines. Are we willing to sacrifice all for the sake of Christ? What we hear going on in other countries is now in our communities. This is just the reality to the times we live in. I want to be brave, I want to charge into battle, I want to say I would sacrifice all for Christ. Yet I know if I relay on myself will, my toughness, my strength, I will eventually weaken like Peter and deny my Lord. This is where I believe when Paul said your Power is made perfect in my weakness ( 2 Corinthians 12:9 ) comes to play. I believe if I only relay on Him and none of the flesh but ONLY His Spirit in me, that I can accomplish whatever he has called me to regardless how impossible it may seem. I must rely on His power and nothing of me. I must decrease that He can increase.
I believe He will give us direction, wisdom, and resources. He has equipped us for such a time as this. Let us all set our faces like flint to the mission He has all called us together.

One little side note to ponder. When flint is struck it sparks a fire. Selah….
I am thankful to not be traveling this alone but to be marching with this little but mighty brigade.

“Lord help us to set our faces like flint to the mission that you have called us too. Many things get in the way to take us off focus. I pray that your powerful Holy Spirit would convict us and help us to recognize the
strategies of the enemy that desires to get us to desert. Lord we know we can do nothing in our own strength and we rely on you to move thru us. We cannot be brave in the face of the enemy or charge into battle unless you anoint us and empower us to do so. Lord let all we do and say be rooted in Calvary Love and all that we come in contact with know they were touched by You. In Jesus name. Amen!”

~Annie

Leave a Reply

